Santiago E-Prix: Gunther grabs win with last-lap pass on da Costa

BMW’s Maximilian Gunther passed DS Techeetah’s Antonio Felix da Costa on the final lap to win a stunning Santiago E-Prix battle, the third round of the 2019-20 season at the O’Higgins Park venue.

Da Costa passed Gunther by barging his way past at the hairpin with two laps to go, almost forcing Gunther to a halt, but da Costa was in serious trouble with his battery temperatures.

As a result he had to slow down to make the finish, so Gunther fought back and swept past him to score his first-ever win in the series.

Jaguar’s poleman Mitch Evans led at the start, ahead of Pascal Wehrlein (Mahindra) who passed Gunther to take second place at the first corner. But Evans’s use of the attack modes left him prone to attack from a charging Gunther, who passed both Wehrlein and Evans to hit the front, using his attack modes to great effect. Evans admitted over the radio that “we shot ourselves in the foot”.

Da Costa said he was being told erroneous energy usage and battery temperature numbers, and would have been more measured in his charge to the front if he’d known. His teammate Jean-Eric Vergne would also have been right in the mix for victory, but damage to his front wing during his charge to the front ultimately forced him out of the race.

Behind the top three, Wehrlein finished fourth ahead of the Mercedes of Nyck de Vries and Stoffel Vandoorne, with the latter now leading the championship.

Full report to follow…

1 Maximilian Gunther Andretti Autosport40 46’11.511  25
2 Antonio Felix da Costa Techeetah40 46’13.578 2.067 18
3 Mitch Evans Jaguar Racing40 46’16.630 5.119 15
4 Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra Racing40 46’18.561 7.050 12
5 Nyck de Vries Mercedes40 46’21.394 9.883 10
6 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes40 46’22.748 11.237 8
7 Lucas di Grassi Team Abt40 46’25.948 14.437 6
8 James Calado Jaguar Racing40 46’29.766 18.255 4
9 Felipe Massa Venturi40 46’31.941 20.430 2
10 Sam Bird Virgin Racing40 46’33.291 21.780 1
11 Nico Müller Dragon Racing40 46’35.297 23.786  
12 Oliver Turvey NIO Formula E Team40 46’39.289 27.778  
13 Sébastien Buemi DAMS40 46’54.768 43.257  
14 Daniel Abt Team Abt40 46’58.709 47.198  
15 Robin Frijns Virgin Racing39 46’47.294 1 Lap  
16 Ma Qing Hua NIO Formula E Team39 47’04.523 1 Lap  
17 Oliver Rowland DAMS36 46’43.287 4 Laps  
  Jérôme d’Ambrosio Mahindra Racing40 48’09.135 1’57.624  
  Brendon Hartley Dragon Racing35 41’17.394 5 Laps  
  Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah32 37’19.383 8 Laps  
  Edoardo Mortara Venturi29 34’05.084 11 Laps  
  Andre Lotterer Porsche Team28 46’59.744 12 Laps  
  Alexander Sims Andretti Autosport4 4’49.246 36 Laps  
  Neel Jani Porsche Team2 4’05.648 38 Laps  

Related video

Source: Read Full Article