Road America IMSA: Montoya keeps Acura Team Penske on top

Juan Pablo Montoya led teammate Ricky Taylor to deliver a one-two for Acura Team Penske in Friday afternoon practice for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s Road America round.

Montoya turned a 1min50.256sec lap to edge Taylor by a mere 0.028sec, the pair of ARX-05s a quarter-second faster than Oliver Jarvis in the quickest of the two Mazda RT24-Ps.

Harry Tincknell was a further 0.3sec in arrears in the second Mazda while Colin Braun slotted the CORE autosport-run Nissan DPi into fifth.

Again, ex-Formula 1 driver Felipe Nasr was the swiftest Cadillac driver, but his Action Express Racing entry was off the ultimate pace by more than one second. Gary Nelson’s AXR crew did occupy the top two spots in this Prototype sub division, with Joao Barbosa running 0.4sec slower than his teammate, and just ahead of Renger van der Zande in the Wayne Taylor Racing Caddy.

Matt McMurry turned the tables on James French in LMP2’s FP2 to grab top spot for Performance Tech Motorsports.

In GT Le Mans, a last minute surge from Earl Bamber saw the #912 Porsche 911 RSR edge ahead of the two Ford GTs of Ryan Briscoe and Dirk Muller.

Jan Magnussen was less than 0.3sec off top spot in the #3 Corvette C7.R, and ahead of Porsche’s Nick Tandy, Corvette’s Tommy Milner, who is returning from injury after a two-race hiatus, and the two BMW M8s.

Jack Hawksworth’s AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F was a highly impressive 0.45sec quicker than its nearest rival in GT Daytona, the Corey Lewis-piloted Lamborghini Huracan of Paul Miller Racing.

The Riley Mercedes AMG-GT3 of Ben Keating and the Turner Motorsports BMW M6 of Bill Auberlen were next up, while Trent Hindman’s fifth-placed Meyer Shank Racing Acura was a second adrift.

Third practice starts at 8.55am local (Central) time tomorrow with qualifying at 12.35pm.

Session results:

16 Dane Cameron
Juan Pablo Montoya
DPiAcura DPi1’50.256 
27 Ricky Taylor
Helio Castroneves
DPiAcura DPi1’50.2840.028
377 Oliver Jarvis
Tristan Nunez
DPiMazda DPi1’50.5310.275
455 Jonathan Bomarito
Harry Tincknell
DPiMazda DPi1’50.8370.581
554 Jon Bennett
Colin Braun
DPiNissan DPi1’50.9710.715
631 Felipe Nasr
Pipo Derani
DPiCadillac DPi1’51.2851.029
75 Joao Barbosa
Filipe Albuquerque
DPiCadillac DPi1’51.6811.425
810 Renger van der Zande
Jordan Taylor
DPiCadillac DPi1’51.7021.446
985 Mikhail Goikhberg
Tristan Vautier
DPiCadillac DPi1’51.7021.446
1084 Simon Trummer
Stephen Simpson
DPiCadillac DPi1’51.9781.722
1152 Matt McMurry
Patrick Kelly
LMP2ORECA LMP21’52.7922.536
1238 Cameron Cassels
James French
LMP2ORECA LMP21’53.5383.282
13912 Earl Bamber
Laurens Vanthoor
GTLMPorsche 911 RSR2’02.48912.233
1467 Ryan Briscoe
Richard Westbrook
GTLMFord GT2’02.56312.307
1566 Joey Hand
Dirk Muller
GTLMFord GT2’02.68012.424
163 Jan Magnussen
Antonio Garcia
GTLMCorvette C7.R2’02.75712.501
17911 Patrick Pilet
Nick Tandy
GTLMPorsche 911 RSR2’02.87112.615
184 Oliver Gavin
Tommy Milner
GTLMCorvette C7.R2’03.39213.136
1925 Tom Blomqvist
Connor de Phillippi
GTLMBMW M8 GTE2’03.78213.526
2024 Jesse Krohn
John Edwards
GTLMBMW M8 GTE2’04.08413.828
2114 Richard Heistand
Jack Hawksworth
GTDLexus RC F GT32’05.16214.906
2248 Bryan Sellers
Corey Lewis
GTDLamborghini Huracan GT32’05.60915.353
2333 Ben Keating
Jeroen Bleekemolen
GTDMercedes-AMG GT32’05.81315.557
2496 Bill Auberlen
Robby Foley
GTDBMW M6 GT32’06.07515.819
2586 Mario Farnbacher
Trent Hindman
GTDAcura NSX GT32’06.15115.895
2673 Patrick Lindsey
Patrick Long
GTDPorsche 911 GT3 R2’06.36616.110
2712 Frankie Montecalvo
Townsend Bell
GTDLexus RC F GT32’06.44216.186
2891 Anthony Imperato
Dennis Olsen
GTDPorsche 911 GT3 R2’06.55416.298
2963 Cooper MacNeil
Toni Vilander
GTDFerrari 488 GT32’06.58316.327
309 Matt Campbell
Zacharie Robichon
GTDPorsche 911 GT3 R2’06.81916.563
3176 Paul Holton
Matt Plumb
GTDMcLaren 720S GT32’07.16016.904
328 Parker Chase
Ryan Dalziel
GTDAudi R8 LMS GT32’07.19016.934
3344 John Potter
Andy Lally
GTDLamborghini Huracan GT32’07.46217.206
3457 Katherine Legge
Ana Beatriz
GTDAcura NSX GT32’07.60817.352
3574 Gar Robinson
Lawson Aschenbach

Source: Read Full Article