VeeKay leads 21-car IndyCar test at Barber

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rookie of the Year Rinus VeeKay topped the times at Barber Motorsports Park, just over one-tenth clear of Colton Herta.

VeeKay lapped the lush, undulating 2.38-mile course in Birmingham, AL, in 65.6148sec to edge Colton Herta’s Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport by 0.1236sec.

In a test where the top 15 cars unofficially broke the qualifying lap record of 66.6001sec held by Sebastien Bourdais since 2016, Arrow McLaren SP’s Patricio O’Ward was third fastest on a 65.9, one tenth faster than Alexander Rossi of Andretti Autosport and Jack Harvey of Meyer Shank Racing.

In his first test for Chip Ganassi Racing, 2020 rookie Alex Palou was 11th, just a tenth slower than the team’s pacesetter on the day, Marcus Ericsson, while the driver he replaced Felix Rosenqvist, turned a 66.5, around 0.6sec off Arrow McLaren SP teammate O’Ward.

Reigning Formula E champion and two-time Macau Grand Prix winner Antonio Felix da Costa, got his first taste of IndyCar, as sole representative for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing. The Portuguese 29-year-old performed well, turning more laps (75) than anyone bar Ericsson and NASCAR star Jimmie Johnson, and with 12th fastest time, he shaded all four Team Penske-Chevrolet drivers.

Scott McLaughlin was 1.3sec off the ultimate pace, but only 0.5sec slower than Penske pacesetter on the day, Josef Newgarden, suggesting the squad was running a different program.

Johnson turned 100 laps and got within 2.8sec of fastest time, and only 1.3sec from next slowest.

Several teams will reconvene at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca on Nov. 10 for the final team test of the year.

121Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter RacingChevy1:05.6148-.—-65
288Colton HertaAndretti Harding Steinbrenner AutosportHonda1:05.73840.123674
35Pato O’WardArrow McLaren SPChevy1:05.90590.291166
427Alexander RossiAndretti AutosportHonda1:06.01790.403156
560Jack HarveyMeyer Shank RacingHonda1:06.09930.484545
620Conor DalyEd Carpenter RacingChevy1:06.13410.519362
728Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti AutosportHonda1:06.19010.575354
88Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi RacingHonda1:06.25680.642086
99Scott DixonChip Ganassi RacingHonda1:06.25790.643161
1014Sebastien BourdaisAJ Foyt EnterprisesChevy1:06.35780.743061
1110Alex PalouChip Ganassi RacingHonda1:06.36460.749874
1215Antonio Felix da CostaRahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHonda1:06.37540.760675
132Josef NewgardenTeam PenskeChevy1:06.41030.795559
1426James HinchcliffeAndretti AutosportHonda1:06.44120.826464
157Felix RosenqvistArrow McLaren SPChevy1:06.50110.886353
1612Will PowerTeam PenskeChevy1:06.61951.004762
1722Simon PagenaudTeam PenskeChevy1:06.63471.019961
184Dalton KellettAJ Foyt EnterprisesChevy1:06.64711.032370
193Scott McLaughlinTeam PenskeChevy1:06.94091.326173
2098Marco AndrettiAndretti Herta with Marco & Curb-AgajanianHonda1:07.08901.474264
2148Jimmie JohnsonChip Ganassi RacingHonda1:08.39842.7836100

Source: Read Full Article