IMSA Laguna Seca: Acuras lock out front row, Corvette tops GTLM

Juan Pablo Montoya beat Acura Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves to land pole for the penultimate round of the 2020 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.

Defending champion Montoya turned a 1min15.174sec of the 2.238-mile WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca, to beat his championship-contending teammate Castroneves by 0.159sec.

Oliver Jarvis fell just 0.078sec short of splitting the ARX-05s with his Mazda RT24-Ps, and was a mere 0.009sec ahead of Pipo Derani’s best in the fastest of the Cadillac DPi-V.Rs, Action Express Racing’s entry piloted by Pipo Derani.

JDC Miller Motorsports’ Tristan Vautier did a fine job to nab fifth ahead of the second Mazda of Jonathan Bomarito, while Ryan Briscoe and Matheus Leist completed the fourth row for Wayne Taylor Racing and JDC Miller respectively.

Patrick Kelly, driving the sole LMP2 entry this weekend, turned 11 laps of the track, and despite a few offs as he explored the limits of his PR1-Mathiasen Oreca, came well within 2sec of the top DPi time.

Corvette Racing’s Jordan Taylor worked hard to land his fourth GT Le Mans pole position of the season, setting a 1min21.483sec lap – a new GTLM class record – on his final flyer.

Porsche’s Laurens Vanthoor, despite an off, was able to clean his Michelins and draw within a quarter-second of his rival, but it turned out that championship leader Taylor had delivered the #3 C8.R’s fifth pole of the year, and Corvette Racing’s sixth.

Oliver Gavin, who it was revealed yesterday would be stepping down from Corvette’s full-time driver roster at season’s end , landed P3 ahead of the two BMW M8s.

Frederic Makowiecki’s #911 Porsche emerged late in the session and ran only two laps before pitting.

Matt McMurry set a 1min25.125sec in the #86 Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX and then parked after just four laps leaving others a tough target at which to aim. Robby Foley, whose Turner Motorsports BMW M6 topped both of Saturday’s practice sessions, lowered his deficit to the Acura from 0.055sec to 0.014sec but couldn’t quite complete the job and quit trying after six laps. That left McMurry with his first ever GT Daytona-class pole.

Cooper MacNeil was 0.2sec adrift in the WeatherTech Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488, but was fast enough to beat the second MSR Acura of Misha Goikhberg by a tenth.

Frankie Montecalvo’s #12 Lexus RC F took fifth, but the sister car was out of luck. Aaron Telitz suffered a right-rear puncture on the #14 Lexus RC F after turning just three laps and his best effort to that point saw him fall to 10th, since teams aren’t allowed to touch their cars during the qualifying sessions, meaning he was unable to collect a new tire.

That misfortune allowed Ian James to claim sixth in the Heart of Racing Aston Martin Vantage ahead of Jeff Kingsley’s Compass Racing McLaren 720S and Till Bechtolshiemer in the Gradient Racing Acura.

The 2hr40min race – the Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Championship – begins at 1.05pm local (Pacific) time, 4.05pm ET.

16 Juan Pablo Montoya
Dane Cameron
DPiAcura DPi81’15.174 
27 Helio Castroneves
Ricky Taylor
DPiAcura DPi91’15.3330.159
377 Oliver Jarvis
Tristan Nunez
DPiMazda DPi71’15.4110.237
431 Felipe Nasr
Pipo Derani
DPiCadillac DPi81’15.4200.246
55 Sébastien Bourdais
Tristan Vautier
DPiCadillac DPi81’15.4610.287
655 Jonathan Bomarito
Harry Tincknell
DPiMazda DPi81’15.5800.406
710 Renger van der Zande
Ryan Briscoe
DPiCadillac DPi81’15.7290.555
885 Matheus Leist
Stephen Simpson
DPiCadillac DPi81’15.8520.678
952 Patrick Kelly
Simon Trummer
LMP2ORECA LMP2 07111’19.5984.424
103 Antonio Garcia
Jordan Taylor
GTLMCorvette C8.R61’21.4836.309
11912 Earl Bamber
Laurens Vanthoor
GTLMPorsche 911 RSR – 1971’21.7256.551
124 Oliver Gavin
Tommy Milner
GTLMCorvette C8.R61’21.8536.679
1325 Bruno Spengler
Connor de Phillippi
GTLMBMW M8 GTE51’22.0546.880
1424 Jesse Krohn
John Edwards
GTLMBMW M8 GTE41’22.1206.946
1586 Mario Farnbacher
Matt McMurry
GTDAcura NSX GT341’25.1269.952
1696 Bill Auberlen
Robby Foley
GTDBMW M6 GT361’25.1409.966
1763 Cooper MacNeil
Alessandro Balzan
GTDFerrari 488 GT371’25.31810.144
1857 Alvaro Parente
Mikhail Goikhberg
GTDAcura NSX GT351’25.42610.252
1912 Frankie Montecalvo
Townsend Bell
GTDLexus RC F GT341’25.47510.301
2023 Ian James
Roman De Angelis
GTDAston Martin Vantage GT351’25.67610.502
2176Jeff Kingsley
Paul Holton
GTDMcLaren 720S GT371’25.82610.652
2222 Till Bechtolsheimer
Marc Miller
GTDAcura NSX GT381’26.01210.838
2316 Ryan Hardwick
Patrick Long
GTDPorsche 911 GT3 R51’26.17110.997
2444 Andy Lally
John Potter
GTDLamborghini Huracan GT361’26.35911.185
2514 Jack Hawksworth
Aaron Telitz
GTDLexus RC F GT331’26.40411.230
2630 Rob Ferriol
Spencer Pumpelly
GTDAudi R8 LMS GT371’26.79111.617
2774 Gar Robinson
Lawson Aschenbach
GTDMercedes-AMG GT381’29.46014.286
28911 Nick Tandy
Frédéric Makowiecki
GTLMPorsche 911 RSR – 1921’32.85617.682
View full results

Source: Read Full Article