IMSA Charlotte: Taylor takes fourth pole for Corvette C8.R

An IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Series qualifying session twice interrupted by red flags saw the familiar names of Jordan Taylor and Aaron Telitz emerge on top.

Laurens Vanthoor brought out the red flag in GT Le Mans qualifying when he struck the wall in his #912 Porsche 911 RSR as his car got light over the brow exiting Turn 7. That left the remaining five cars just four minutes to set a fast lap.

Taylor was the first to duck under the 75sec barrier with a 1min14.4, and then improved to 1min14.278sec. That left most of his rivals gasping although Fred Makowiecki in the #911 Porsche drew within 0.056sec of the #3 Corvette C8.R.

The BMW M8s of Bruno Spengler and Jesse Krohn were a somewhat disappointing half a second down on Taylor, while Oliver Gavin in the #4 Corvette was 0.789sec from top spot.

Aaron Telitz took GT Daytona honors despite his AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F brushing the wall of the oval on his final flyer. That effort got him down to a 1min17.954sec, although his previous two laps had also been good enough for pole.

His closest competitor was Robby Foley who was, as usual, highly impressive in the Turner Motorsport BMW M6, 0.123sec from top spot.

Misha Goikhberg caused a brief red flag when he spun the #57 Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX after clipping the wall at the same place that Vanthoor had, which cost him the rest of the session and his two fastest laps.

Ryan Hardwick in the Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R failed to respond to the red flag so was ordered to sit out the remainder of the session. That allowed Matt McMurry in the second MSR Acura NSX to vault him into third, and Jeff Kingsley’s McLaren 720S into fourth. However, the Compass Racing was investigated for tipping the Team Hardpoint Audi R8 of Rob Ferriol into a spin on his final flyer.

Hardwick retained fifth ahead of Gar Robinson’s Riley Mercedes AMG GT3, with Till Bechtolsheimer seventh in Gradient Racing’s Acura seventh. That car had been repaired following his co-driver Marc Miller’s accident in FP2 this morning.

Tonight’s 100-minute race begins at 8.05pm local (Eastern) time.

13 Antonio Garcia
Jordan Taylor
GTLMCorvette C8.R1’14.278 
2911 Nick Tandy
Frédéric Makowiecki
GTLMPorsche 911 RSR – 191’14.3340.056
325 Bruno Spengler
Connor de Phillippi
GTLMBMW M8 GTE1’14.7300.452
424 Jesse Krohn
John Edwards
GTLMBMW M8 GTE1’14.8240.546
54 Oliver Gavin
Tommy Milner
GTLMCorvette C8.R1’15.0670.789
614 Jack Hawksworth
Aaron Telitz
GTDLexus RC F GT31’17.9543.676
796 Bill Auberlen
Robby Foley
GTDBMW M6 GT31’18.0773.799
886 Mario Farnbacher
Matt McMurry
GTDAcura NSX GT31’18.0913.813
976Jeff Kingsley
Paul Holton
GTDMcLaren 720S GT31’18.1473.869
1016 Ryan Hardwick
Patrick Long
GTDPorsche 911 GT3 R1’18.2323.954
1174 Gar Robinson
Lawson Aschenbach
GTDMercedes-AMG GT31’18.5404.262
1222 Till Bechtolsheimer
Marc Miller
GTDAcura NSX GT31’18.7254.447
1312 Townsend Bell
Michael de Quesada
GTDLexus RC F GT31’18.9234.645
1423 Ian James
Roman De Angelis
GTDAston Martin Vantage GT31’19.2995.021
1544 Andy Lally
John Potter
GTDLamborghini Huracan GT31’20.1025.824
1630 Rob Ferriol
Spencer Pumpelly
GTDAudi R8 LMS GT31’21.2356.957
1757 Alvaro Parente
Mikhail Goikhberg
GTDAcura NSX GT31’22.9088.630
18912 Earl Bamber
Laurens Vanthoor
GTLMPorsche 911 RSR – 190.000 
View full results

Source: Read Full Article