Daruvala leads Shwartzman on Day 2 of Bahrain F2 testing

Jehan Daruvala remained on top on the second day of Formula 2 post-season testing on Bahrain’s grand prix layout, as Prema’s Robert Shwartzman prevented another Carlin 1-2.

Having set the pace on the opening day of the test with a time of 1m41.848s, the Indian driver lowered the benchmark further on Wednesday to a 1m41.686s to lead Shwartzman and Carlin teammate Dan Ticktum.

It was Campos driver Ralph Boschung who held the top spot on the timesheets in the morning session, a 1m42.244s putting him just 0.027s clear of Daruvala.

But while Boschung failed to improve his time in the afternoon, Daruvala posted a 1m42.034s at the 90-minute mark to lead Ticktum’s best effort of 1m42.438s.

The two Carlin drivers remained at the head of the order until the final 10 minutes of the session when Shwartzman set the first sub-1m42s time of the day to snatch the top spot from Daruvala.

However, the Indian driver fired back in the dying minutes of Wednesday’s running, eclipsing the Prema’s driver time of 1m41.853s by 0.167s end the day the quickest of all.

Ticktum improved to a 1m42.050s late on to retake third, having been dislodged from the spot by the Hitech of Liam Lawson.

Lawson’s effort of 1m42.177s was good enough for fourth, while Boschung completed the top five with the time he had set in the first part of the day.

Marcus Armstrong was the lead DAMS driver in sixth, while UNI Virtuosi’s Felipe Drugovich edged out MP Motorsport’s Louis Deletraz by just 0.002s to take seventh.

David Beckmann was ninth after taking over the #11 Charouz car from Callum Ilott, this year’s runner-up with Virtuosi, as teammate Guilherme Samaia rounded out the top 10.

The afternoon running was interrupted by two separate red flags, both being shown in the final hour; HWA driver Matteo Nannini came to a stop at Turn 8 for the first, while 2020 Formula 3 runner-up Theo Pourchaire spun at the same corner later to bring out a second stoppage.

The post-season F2 test will conclude at the Bahrain International Circuit on Thursday, with another six hours of running split across two sessions.

Day 2 morning session results:

1Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:42.24433
2Jehan DaruvalaCarlin1:42.27143
3Liam LawsonHitech Grand Prix1:42.33735
4Jri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:42.55030
5Christian LundgaardART Grand Prix1:42.81932
6Felipe DrugovichUNI-Virtuosi1:42.93145
7Marcus ArmstrongDAMS1:42.96139
8Dan TicktumCarlin1:43.01844
9Roy NissanyDAMS1:43.08236
10Marino SatoTrident1:43.09541
11Logan SargeantCampos Racing1:43.09942
12Theo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:43.11733
13Clement NovalakTrident1:43.27722
14David BeckmannCharouz Racing System1:43.31637
15Louis DeletrazMP Motorsport1:43.46441
16Guilherme SamaiaCharouz Racing System1:43.71838
17Matteo NanniniBWT HWA RACELAB1:43.85528
18Lirim ZendeliMP Motorsport1:44.65044
19Roberto MerhiBWT HWA RACELAB1:45.84417
20Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi1:47.57953
21Oscar PiastriPREMA Racing1:48.13946
22Robert ShwartzmanPREMA Racing2:03.20631

Day 2 afternoon session results:

1Jehan DaruvalaCarlin1:41.68634
2Robert ShwartzmanPREMA Racing1:41.85333
3Dan TicktumCarlin1:42.05035
4Liam LawsonHitech Grand Prix1:42.17739
5Marcus ArmstrongDAMS1:42.28142
6Felipe DrugovichUNI-Virtuosi1:42.37329
7Louis DeletrazMP Motorsport1:42.37523
8David BeckmannCharouz Racing System1:42.39840
9Guilherme SamaiaCharouz Racing System1:42.41538
10Clement NovalakTrident1:42.46747
11Logan SargeantCampos Racing1:42.51236
12Guanyu ZhouUNI-Virtuosi1:42.62947
13Ralph BoschungCampos Racing1:42.63531
14Juri VipsHitech Grand Prix1:42.67239
15Oscar PiastriPREMA Racing1:42.71933
16Marino SatoTrident1:42.86953
17Roy NissanyDAMS1:42.87630
18Christian LundgaardART Grand Prix1:42.88841
19Lirim ZendeliMP Motorsport1:43.06818
20Matteo NanniniBWT HWA RACELAB1:43.74425
21Theo PourchaireART Grand Prix1:44.51935
22Roberto MerhiBWT HWA RACELAB1:44.98119

Source: Read Full Article